About 6DISS

6DISS is a two-and-a-half-year European project to provide IPv6 training and knowledge transfer to research networks in developing regions. It also aims to establish contacts with networking personnel and organisations in these regions, in order to encourage cooperation and possible future participation in European R&D activities.

The project is targeting eight developing regions: Asia-Pacific, the Caribbean, Central Asia, the Mediterranean, South & Central America, South-East Europe, Southern Africa, and Sub-Saharan Africa. IPv6 training workshops will be organised in each of these regions, with follow-up support being made available. This will also provide an opportunity to evaluate the current state of research networking in each region. In addition, the project will provide specialist training for instructors and engineers at locations in Europe, develop e-learning material for online distribution, and exchange deployment experiences with research networks in China and India.

6DISS builds on the IPv6 deployment experiences of the 6NET, Euro6IX and GÉANT projects, as well as the liaisons established with the IPv6 Forum, European IPv6 Task Force and IETF. The aim is to let organisations in developing countries benefit from this experience since they have fewer legacy installations and are therefore able to utilise the new technology in an efficient manner. The documentation produced by the aforementioned projects will be used as the basis of the 6DISS training material, and will be further expanded and improved during the lifetime of the project.

6DISS involves nine partners from the commercial, research and academic sectors and represents a total investment of EUR 1,053,265; 85% of which is funded from the Information Society Technologies Programme of the European Union. The project started on 1 April 2005 and runs until 30 September 2007.


Work Packages

WP0: Project Administration and Technical Management

This work package is responsible for the administrative and financial aspects of the project.
Lead Partner: Martel Consulting

WP1: Workshop Preparation and Information Dissemination

This work package is developing the IPv6 training material, organising the regional workshops, and providing follow-up support. It utilises the existing 6NET experience and documentation, supplemented by the knowledge gained from the project partners' participation in the IPv6 Forum, IPv6 Cluster, IETF and other activities.
Lead Partner: RENATER

WP2: Complementary Training

This work package complements WP1 by providing training in addition to the workshops. This includes the training of potential IPv6 instructors at 6DISS sites, specialist training for engineers at a purpose-built laboratory in Brussels, dissemination of e-learning material, and the establishment of a remote 'hands-on' testbed.
Lead Partner: Cisco

WP3: Project Support and Visibility

This work package maintains the 6DISS web server and online project management facilities. It will also distribute course material and workshop proceedings via alternative methods in regions where Internet connectivity is poor. Another task is to evaluate the current state of connectivity in each targeted region.
Lead Partner: TERENA

Target Countries/Territories

Asia-Pacific: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Iran, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Sri Lanka, Vietnam

Caribbean: Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Netherlands Antilles, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts & Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & Grenadines, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Islands, US Virgin Islands

Central Asia: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgystan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan

Mediterranean: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey

South-East Europe: Albania, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, FYROM, Romania, Serbia & Montenegro

South & Central America: Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), French Guiana, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela

Southern Africa: Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mozambique, Namibia, RĂ©union, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Sub-Saharan Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Chad, Central African Republic, Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Djibouti, DR Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Saint Helena & Dependencies, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Western Sahara